Journal - Special Issue of Concurrency and Computation, Practice and Experience (CCPE), 2015

The special issue of Concurrency and Computation, Practice and Experience (CCPE) calls for submissions on heterogeneous and unconventional cluster architectures and applications. This call  is open for all contributions, but also invites selected papers from the workshop editions HUCCA2013 and HUCAA2014.

This special issue gears to gather recent work on heterogeneous and unconventional cluster architectures and applications, which might have a big impact on future cluster architectures. This includes any cluster architecture that is not based on the usual commodity components and therefore makes use of some special hard- or software elements, or that is used for very special and unconventional applications. Examples include GPUs and other accelerators (Intel MIC/Xeon Phi, FPGA) used at cluster level. Other examples include run-time management, virtualization, in-memory storage,  hard- and software interactions, databases, and device-to-device communication. We are in particular encouraging work on disruptive approaches, which may show inferior performance today but can already point out their performance potential. The broad scope of the special issue facilitates submissions
on unconventional uses of hardware or software, gearing to gather ideas that are coming to life now and not limiting them except for their context: clusters. Also, these proposals may rather be reflective of a broader industry trend.

We are seeking new proposals presented from a holistic perspective. In this regard, one of the aims of the special issue is anticipating the evolution of clusters, instead of just presenting new work carried out in the traditional cluster areas usually addressed in other journals and conferences.

Topics of Interest

Topics of interest include any heterogeneous or unconventional cluster architecture or application. Examples include, but are not limited to:

  • Clustered GPUs, Xeon Phis or other accelerators
  • Runtimes, resource management and scheduling for heterogeneous clusters
  • Communication methods for distributed or clustered accelerators
  • Energy-aware data movement techniques
  • New industry and technology trends and their potential impact 
  • High-performance, data-intensive, and power-aware computing
  • Application-specific cluster and datacenter architectures
  • Emerging programming paradigms for parallel heterogeneous computing
  • Software cluster-level virtualization for consolidation purposes
  • Hardware techniques for resource aggregation
  • Management layers for large-scale systems
  • New uses of GPUs, FPGAs, and other specialized hardware
  • Dedicated support for novel parallel programming paradigms like PGAS or MapReduce

 Important Dates

  • Extended Submission deadline: Feb 22, 2015 Jan 31, 2015
  • Notification: April 15, 2015
  • Revision Due: May 15, 2015
  • Final decision due: June 15, 2015
  • Camera-ready paper due: July 15, 2015
  • Publication: end of 2015 (estimated)

 Guest Editors

Review Board

  • Tarek Abdelrahman, U. Toronto, Canada
  • Olivier Aumage, INRIA, France
  • Victor Bauset, Technical University of Valencia, Spain
  • Costas Bekas, IBM Research - Zurich, Switzerland
  • Javier Cuenca, U. Murcia, Spain
  • Jesús Escudero, Technical University of Valencia, Spain
  • Pierfrancesco Foglia, U. Pisa, Italy
  • Basilio Fraguela, U. Coruna, Spain
  • Efstratios Gallopoulos, U. Patras, Greece
  • Pedro Javier Garcia, U. Castilla-La Mancha, Spain
  • Rong Ge, Marquette University, US
  • Marc Gonzalez, U. Politecnica Catalunya, Spain
  • Mitch Gusat, IBM, Zürich, Switzerland
  • Christoph Kessler, U. Linköping, Sweden
  • Pierre Manneback, U. Mons, Belgium
  • Tomàs Margalef, U. Autonoma Barcelona, Spain                   
  • Henning Meyerhenke, KIT, Germany
  • Sonia Ben Mokhtar, INSA, Lyon, France                
  • Angeles Navarro, U. Malaga, Spain  
  • Thu D. Nguyen, U. Rutgers, US                    
  • Dimitrios S. Nikolopoulos, Queen’s University, Belfast, UK        
  • Antonio Pena, Argonne National Laboratory, US                     
  • Dirk Pleiter, Research Center Jülich, Germany                     
  • Thomas Rauber, U. Bayreuth, Germany     
  • Alistair Rendell, Australian National University, Australia                 
  • Etienne Riviere, U. Neuchatel, Switzerland                  
  • Krzysztof Rzadca, U. of Warsaw, Poland
  • Won Woo Ro, Yonsei University, South Korea                       
  • Antonio Robles, Technical University of Valencia, Spain
  • Uwe Schwiegelshohn, U. of Dortmund, Germany
  • Sudip Seal, Oak Ridge National Labs, US                       
  • Mingxing Tan, Cornell University, US
  • Douglas Thain, U. Notre Dame, US                    
  • Matthew Jacob Thazhuthaveetil, Indian Institute of Science, India    
  • Blesson Varghese, U. St Andrews, UK
  • Prudence Wong, U. of Liverpool, UK